linuga_cultura_ladina recommend

Rosa AlpinaRosa Alpina

Dolomiti - Unesco EN


Holidays in the Dolomites – World Natural Heritage site

The territory of Alta Badia and the entire valley of Val Badia are an integral part of the Dolomites, the vast mountain group extending between the provinces of Belluno, Bolzano, Trento, Vicenza, Verona, Udine and Pordenone.

Also known as the "Pale Mountains", the Dolomites were declared a World Nature Heritage site by UNESCO in 2009. An important acknowledgement, which has made these mountains even more popular.

It was the nature scientist Déodat de Dolomieu who first paid particular attention to the rock type of the Dolomites. It was in his honour that the vast mountain chain was called Dolomites, a name deriving from Dolomia, the name of the rock we find there.

Today, the Dolomites provide a territory of extraordinary beauty which expresses the fascination of unspoiled nature. Mountain rocks alternate with green meadows with undisturbed flora and fauna.

The Dolomites also include numerous Nature Parks:

Dolomiti Bellunesi National Park
Dolomiti d'Ampezzo Nature Park
Fanes – Senes – Braies Nature Park
Paneveggio - Pale di San Martino Nature Park
Sciliar Nature Park
Dolomiti di Sesto Nature Park
Puez-Odle Nature Park
Adamello-Brenta Provincial Park
Dolomiti Friulane Nature Park

These parks were established with the aim of protecting the flora and fauna in these areas.

Staying in Alta Badia mainly means being able to admire the Dolomites from very close up by driving or cycling on the mountain roads and mountain passes which lead through the mountains. The Ladin population has invented the term "Enrosadira", being the phenomenon of the Dolomites shimmering red at dawn.